Responsive image

Mr. Ronald C Perera, President’s Counsel

Mr. Ronald C Perera, President’s Counsel, has been appointed as Chairman, Bank of Ceylon by Hon. Ravi Karunanayake, Minister of Finance. He assumed office on Wednesday 28th January 2015.

Mr. Perera is a LLB graduate from the University of Colombo and also holds a LLM in International Trade Law from Northumbria University. Mr. Perera was appointed as a President’s Counsel in 2012. He was a Director of the Bank of Ceylon previously.

Mr. Perera is an experienced lawyer with a wide practice in the original courts as well as in the Court of Appeal and Supreme Court. He has wide experience in Civil and Criminal litigation, negotiation and drafting of commercial and transport contracts and agreements. Mr. Perera has specialized in Commercial Law, Banking Law, Industrial Law, Injunctions, Defamation, Election Petitions, Civil Appeals, Revision Applications, Writ Applications, and Fundamental Rights Cases. Additionally, he has appeared in several Commercial Arbitrations.


Mr. S. R. Attygalle 
Ex Officio Director

Mr. S.R. Attygalle is an Assistant Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka and currently serves as a Deputy Secretary to the Treasury. He has over 25 years of experience in the area of Monetary and Fiscal Policy.
Mr. Attygalle holds a Masters (M.Sc.) Degree in Quantitative Development Economics from the University of Warwick, United Kingdom and a Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) Degree in Physical Science from the University of Colombo.
Prior to the appointment as the Deputy Secretary to the Treasury Mr. Attygalle had been serving as the Director General of the Department of Fiscal Policy and Department of Public Enterprises of the Ministry of Finance and Planning and has contributed substantially to the Government’s endeavors in the fiscal consolidation process. He has been contributing towards the formulation of the Annual Budget and leading the technical team for the Free Trade Agreement (FTA) with China.
Mr. Attygalle had also served as a Director and Acting Chairman of National Savings Bank and a Director to the Board of Regional Development Bank and also represented the Treasury as a Board Member in several Boards in key Government institutions such as Sri Lanka Ports Authority.
At present Mr. Attygalle is representing the Treasury at the Securities and Exchange Commission of Sri Lanka.


Mr. Ranel T. Wijesinha
Non Executive Director

Mr. Ranel T. Wijesinha was appointed to the Board as a Non Executive Director in February 2015. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka (ICASL) and is an Independent Management Consultant. He is the holder of a Masters Degree in Business Administration from the University of Pittsburgh, in Pennsylvania USA, and is a Past President of CA Sri Lanka and a Past President of the Confederation of Asian and Pacific Accountants.

Mr. Wijesinha worked at KPMG Sri Lanka and Deloitt Overseas and served as a partner and Head of Consulting with PricewaterhouseCoopers Sri Lanka. As an Independent International Consultant, he has performed advisory work in the public sector for foreign Governments in several countries on behalf of the Asian Development Bank. Mr. Wijesinha has extensive local and overseas experience in the private sector, in Strategic Advisory Work, Business Concept and Project Evaluation, Due Diligence, Corporate Turnarounds, Privatizations, Restructuring, Valuations, Mergers and Acquisitions. He has also served in many advisory and regulatory roles for the Government of Sri Lanka.


Mr. Ajith Gunawardana
Non Executive Director

Mr. Ajith Gunawardana was appointed to the Board as a Non-Executive Director in November 2015. He brings to the board over 25 years experience in the financial sector being a Government Treasury Bond market specialist with experience in Equity markets and fund management. He also brings Corporate Governance experience having sat on a number of listed company boards.

Previously he served as a Director / Chief Executive Officer of Janashakthi Securities Limited.  Mr. Gunawardana also served as a Director of Kshatriya Holdings PLC, First Capital Holdings PLC, Kelsey Homes PLC and Kotmale Holdings PLC.

He also worked at Ceylinco Shriram Securities Limited and Ceylinco Shriram Capital Management Services Limited as an Assistant General Manager.  Mr. Gunawardana started his career at Ceylon Trading Company Limited and also served as an Executive at Bartleet Stock Brokers Limited.


Mr. Samantha Rajapaksa
Non Executive Director

Mr. Samantha Rajapaksa was appointed to the Board as a Non-Executive Director in July 2017. He is a Fellow member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka and the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants of UK. He is also a Fellow member of the Chartered Institute of Marketing of UK and holds a Masters in Business Administration from the Post Graduate Institute of Management of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura.

He commenced his career in 1987 and has held the positions of Group Managing Director at Associated Motorways (Pvt) Limited, Director/General Manager at Informatics International (Pvt) Ltd., Director/Chief Executive Officer of CF Venture Fund Ltd., Directorships at AMW Capital Leasing & Finance PLC and Central Finance Co. PLC, Senior Project Manager at AT&T Inc. USA and Group Director of Kshatriya Holdings PLC. He was also the Director/ Chief Executive Officer of Softlogic Communications (Pvt) Ltd and a Group Director of the Softlogic Holdings PLC.

Mr. Rajapaksa is the recipient of the Platinum Honours Award for Professional Excellence in the Field of Management from the Post Graduate Institute of Management of the University of Sri Jayawardenepura. Mr. Rajapaksa is also an Executive member of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce, President of the Sri Lanka – USA Business Council and a Director of the National Apprentice and Industrial Training Authority.

Presently, he holds Directorships at the Asiri Group of Hospitals and the Colombo Archery School (Private) Limited.



Mr. K. G. G. R. Mohan Wijesinghe
Non Executive Director

Mr. K. G. G. R. Mohan Wijesinghe was appointed to the Board as a Non-Executive Director on the 24th November 2017. He is an Attorney-at-Law and holds the positions of General Manager – Legal at Colombo International Container Terminals Limited and Senior Overseas Advisor at China Merchants Ports Holdings Company Ltd.  He has experience in having worked for both the private and public sectors.

Mr. Wijesinghe holds a Masters Degree in International Legal Cooperation from the University of Vrije in Brussels and he is also a Solicitor of the Supreme Court of England and Wales, a Solicitor and Barrister of the Supreme Court of the Australian Capital Territory and a Barrister of the High Court of Australia.

Previously, he had served as the Group Personal Manager of Maharajah Group of Companies, the Assistant Director of the Superannuation Commission of Australia, the Director General of the Sri Lanka Institute of Advance Technical Education and an Executive Director of the National Lotteries Board.

Mr. Wijesinghe has served as a Director on the Board of People’s Bank and is a Director of the Maganeguma Road Construction Equipment Company (Pvt) Ltd, Maganeguma Consultancy and Project Management Company and Interocean Services Limited and also serves as a Member of the National Agenda Committee of the National Chamber of Commerce of Sri Lanka.