Responsive image

Mr. Ronald C Perera, President’s Counsel

Mr. Ronald C Perera, President’s Counsel, has been appointed as Chairman, Bank of Ceylon by Hon. Ravi Karunanayake, Minister of Finance. He assumed office on Wednesday 28th January 2015.

Mr. Perera is a LLB graduate from the University of Colombo and also holds a LLM in International Trade Law from Northumbria University. Mr. Perera was appointed as a President’s Counsel in 2012. He was a Director of the Bank of Ceylon previously.

Mr. Perera is an experienced lawyer with a wide practice in the original courts as well as in the Court of Appeal and Supreme Court. He has wide experience in Civil and Criminal litigation, negotiation and drafting of commercial and transport contracts and agreements. Mr. Perera has specialized in Commercial Law, Banking Law, Industrial Law, Injunctions, Defamation, Election Petitions, Civil Appeals, Revision Applications, Writ Applications, and Fundamental Rights Cases. Additionally, he has appeared in several Commercial Arbitrations.


Mr. S. R. Attygalle 
Ex Officio Director

Mr. S.R. Attygalle is an Assistant Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka and currently serves as a Deputy Secretary to the Treasury. He has over 25 years of experience in the area of Monetary and Fiscal Policy.

Mr. Attygalle holds a Masters (M.Sc.) Degree in Quantitative Development Economics from the University of Warwick, United Kingdom and a Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) Degree in Physical Science from the University of Colombo.

Prior to the appointment as the Deputy Secretary to the Treasury Mr. Attygalle had been serving as the Director General of the Department of Fiscal Policy and Department of Public Enterprises of the Ministry of Finance and Planning and has contributed substantially to the Government’s endeavors in the fiscal consolidation process. He has been contributing towards the formulation of the Annual Budget and leading the technical team for the Free Trade Agreement (FTA) with China.

Mr. Attygalle had also served as a Director and Acting Chairman of National Savings Bank and a Director to the Board of Regional Development Bank and also represented the Treasury as a Board Member in several Boards in key Government institutions such as Sri Lanka Ports Authority.

At present Mr. Attygalle is representing the Treasury at the Securities and Exchange Commission of Sri Lanka, Airport and Aviation Services Limited.


Mr. Ranel T. Wijesinha
Non Executive Director

Mr. Ranel T. Wijesinha was appointed to the Board as a Non Executive Director in February 2015. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka (ICASL) and is an Independent Management Consultant. He is the holder of a Masters Degree in Business Administration from the University of Pittsburgh, in Pennsylvania USA, and is a Past President of CA Sri Lanka and a Past President of the Confederation of Asian and Pacific Accountants.

Mr. Wijesinha worked at KPMG Sri Lanka and Deloitt Overseas and served as a partner and Head of Consulting with PricewaterhouseCoopers Sri Lanka. As an Independent International Consultant, he has performed advisory work in the public sector for foreign Governments in several countries on behalf of the Asian Development Bank. Mr. Wijesinha has extensive local and overseas experience in the private sector, in Strategic Advisory Work, Business Concept and Project Evaluation, Due Diligence, Corporate Turnarounds, Privatizations, Restructuring, Valuations, Mergers and Acquisitions. He has also served in many advisory and regulatory roles for the Government of Sri Lanka.


Mr. Charitha Nissanka Wijewardane
Non Executive Director

Mr. Charitha Nissanka Wijewardane was appointed to the Board as a Non Executive Director in November 2015.  Mr. Wijewardane graduated from the University of HULL, UK with BSc Honours Degree in Digital Electronics and Communications.  Mr. Wijewardane is an Engineer by profession.  He served at IBM as a Country General Manager for IBM World Trade Corporation.  He worked at IBM World Trade Corporation since 1980 as an Associate System Engineer and Marketing Manager and was attached to the operations in Sri Lanka.  He also worked at IBM’s Asia Pacific Group Headquarters in Hong Kong, where he was in-charge of Mass Marketing Programmes in all of Asia Pacific for IBM’s AS/400 series.  Mr. Wijewardane was heading the Marketing Team in IBM Sri Lanka and he was also managing the AS/400 Mass Marketing Programme for IBM ASEAN Operations out of Singapore.

Mr. Wijewardane also served at Lexmark International’s Asia Pacific Operations based in Sydney, Australia.  At Lexmark he worked as a Regional Manager spearheading distribution and service operations for Lexmark Products in Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Myanmar, Maldives and New Zealand.  He is recognized for setting up effective channels operations in diverse cultures and sub cultures.


Mr. Asela Sanjaya Padmaperuma
Non Executive Director

Mr. Asela Sanjaya Padmaperuma was appointed to the Board as a Non Executive Director in November 2015.  Mr. Padmaperuma graduated from the Western Carolina University, North Carolina with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration – Majoring in Computer Information Systems.  He is the co-founder of South Asian Technologies (SAT) and is presently employed as the Chief Executive Officer.  He served as the Director / General Manager of Ceylinco Networking Technologies and as a Director of Lumen Technologies.

He also served as an Assistant General Manager of Golden Key Software Solutions and has started his career at Seylan Bank PLC.



Mr. Ajith Gunawardana
Non Executive Director

Mr. Ajith Gunawardana was appointed to the Board as a Non-Executive Director in November 2015. He brings to the board over 25 years experience in the financial sector being a Government Treasury Bond market specialist with experience in Equity markets and fund management. He also brings Corporate Governance experience having sat on a number of listed company boards.

Previously he served as a Director / Chief Executive Officer of Janashakthi Securities Limited.  Mr. Gunawardana also served as a Director of Kshatriya Holdings PLC, First Capital Holdings PLC, Kelsey Homes PLC and Kotmale Holdings PLC.

He also worked at Ceylinco Shriram Securities Limited and Ceylinco Shriram Capital Management Services Limited as an Assistant General Manager.  Mr. Gunawardana started his career at Ceylon Trading Company Limited and also served as an Executive at Bartleet Stock Brokers Limited.